08 Mar 2021 15:07 IST

Sastra Law School wins K R Ramamani Tax Moot Court competition

All women’s team bagged the trophy by arguing the problem of retrospective provisions of Sec 40 of IT Act

Sastra Law School emerged as the winners in the 11th K R Ramamani Tax Moot Court competition organised by SOEL Chennai. The all women’s team comprising Pratiksha Easwar, fifth year, BCom LLB (Hons), Aravindini U, fifth year, BA LLB (Hons), and Kavitha Ravi, fifth year, BA LLB (Hons), won the trophy.




The moot problem was on an intricate issue on curative and retrospective provisions of Section 40 of the Income Tax Act. A total of 30 teams had participated, highest till date. In the quarters, the teams that had participated are Symbiosis Pune, TNNLU Trichy, Law Centre 1, Faculty of Law Delhi, RGNUL Punjab, Christ University Bangalore, Nirma University Ahmedabad, NLIU Bhopal. In the semi-finals, Sastra beat Christ University and in preliminary a premier National Law School.

In the finals, Sastra Law School beat against NLIU Bhopal to be adjudged the winners. In the last eight years of this moot, Sastra emerged winners five times increasing its competitive foothold on tax law moot.