03 April 2017 13:25:36 IST

555 students graduate from Indian Institute of Management Calcutta

President Pranab Mukherjee addressed the students on achieving excellence

Indian Institute of Management Calcutta celebrated its 52nd convocation at its campus recently. The ceremony was graced by Pranab Kumar Mukherjee, President of India, in the presence of Ajit Balakrishnan, Chairman of IIM Calcutta’s Board of Governors and Saibal Chattopadhyay, Director, IIM Calcutta.

This year, diplomas were awarded to 434 students graduating in Post Graduate Diploma in Management (PGDM), followed by 68 students in Post Graduate Programme for Executives (PGPEX) and 40 students in Post Graduate Programme for Executives for Visionary Leadership in Manufacturing (PGPEX-VLM). The institute also conferred 13 students with the Fellowship Programme diploma.

After the commencement of the convocation with opening remarks and lighting of the lamp by the dignitaries, students were felicitated with awards and prizes. For achieving academic excellence, students were honored with gold, silver and bronze medals by Pranab Mukherjee, followed by his congratulatory convocation address to the future corporate leaders.

Under PGDM programme, Soumyasree Chakrabortywas awarded the Dr BC Roy gold medal for being the first rank holder. She won the Aditya Kashyap Memorial Scholarship for receiving highest CGPA in compulsory and elective courses, as well as Late Sumantra Ghoshal Award for Academic Excellence for receiving highest CGPA at the end of the two-year programme.

Under PGPEX programme, Pamela Ghosh won the gold medal sponsored by the Calcutta chapter of the IIMC Alumni Association for being the first rank holder. She also won the Institute Book Prize and the Book Prize sponsored by Taylor & Francis Group and her name will appear in the Director’s merit list. Pamela also won The Rising Star Award of Academic Merit for PGPEX students and a cash award of ₹1 lakh, sponsored by the Shapoorji Pallonji Group.

Under PGPEX-VLM, Subrata Kumar Mahanty was awarded the ACC Ltd gold medal for ranking first and his name will feature in the Director’s merit list.

In Fellow Programme, Anjan Ghosh won the Satish K Sehgal Doctoral Student Award.