29 December 2021 06:43:49 IST

ICFAI ties up with AMTZ

The MoU provides part-time PhD for scientists at Andhra Pradesh Medtech Zone Ltd .

ICFAI Foundation for Higher Education, Deemed University, Hyderabad, signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) with Andhra Pradesh Medtech Zone Ltd (AMTZ), Visakhapatnam, for providing a part-time PhD programme for scientists working in AMTZ.

The MoU was signed by both parties at an event organised at Kalam Convention Center, AMTZ, Visakhapatnam on December 12. Dr Vijayalakshmi, Registrar, ICFAI University, and Dr Jitender Sharma, Managing Director and CEO of AMTZ signed the MoU.

As part of the partnership, ICFAI University will roll out a specially-designed curriculum and pedagogy to ensure that the programme runs smoothly. The first batch of AMTZ scientists will soon be admitted to the programme and will be guided by AMTZ scientists and ICFAI faculty.

AMTZ regularly conducts FDPs and entrepreneurship development programmes for a large number of students and faculty from across India through the Indian Biomedical Skill Council. Through the MoU, ICFAI faculty will now be invited as Subject Matter Experts (SMEs) for some of the relevant topics during the sessions. The co-incubation of start-ups in the domain of medical devices and health technologies will be undertaken at AMTZ under the MoU.

The start-ups in ICFAI's incubator in the above mentioned domains will be co-incubated and mentored from ideation stage to market-ready levels by AMTZ. AMTZ will provide its vast resources for design, testing and fabrication to start-ups from ICFAI's Incubator.

MoU was signed in the presence of Dr Rakesh Sarwal, Additional Secretary, NITI Aayog; Dr Renu Swaroop (joined online), Former Secretary, Department of Biotechnology, Government of India. Ravi Kapoor, Secretary, Ministry of Textiles, Government of India; Prof A Vedpuriswar, Senior Advisor, ICFAI Group; Prof C S Shylajan, Dean, ICFAI Business School, Hyderasbad, Prof M Sainath, President, Institution's Innovation Council, ICFAI Foundation for Higher Education.