20 Mar 2020 19:42 IST

IIM Bangalore awards gold medals to seven students

Amid coronavirus pandemic, the convocation has been postponed and degrees will be sent to students

Following a special resolution passed by the Board of Governors, Indian Institute of Management Bangalore, on March 20, 615 students from various programmes have graduated in 2020. While the convocation ceremony has been postponed due to the restrictions imposed on account of the threat of the spread of the Covid-19, in order to assist the academic and professional pursuit of its students, the degrees will be sent to them.

The announcements were made by Dr Devi Prasad Shetty, Chair, Board of Governors, IIM Bangalore, who joined online, and Prof G Raghuram, Director, IIM Bangalore.

Degrees were conferred by the Chair, IIM-B Board of Governors, to 14 students of the Doctoral Programme, 27 students of the Post Graduate Programme in Public Policy and Management, 70 students of the Post Graduate Programme in Enterprise Management, 75 students of the Executive Post Graduate Programme in Management, and 429 students of the Post Graduate Programme in Management.

Gold medals were awarded to seven students across different programmes. Out of the seven gold medallists, three are women of whom one received two gold medals.

In a simple and safe function, following the conferral, four students of the Doctoral programme (who were present on campus) and the seven gold medal winners were awarded their degrees and medals by Prof G Raghuram, Director, IIM Bangalore, in the presence of the Programme Chairs — Prof Haritha Saranga (Doctor of Philosophy), ProfAnil B.Suraj (PGPPM), Prof Gopal Mahapatra (PGPEM), Prof R Narayanaswamy (EPGP), and Prof Padmini Srinivasan (PGP). Board members Dr Hasmukh Adhia, former Finance Secretary to the Government of India, and distinguished alumnus of IIM-B, and MD Ranganath, former CFO, Infosys, were present while Dr Shetty, joined in through video conferencing.

Dr Shetty said: “The future you are inheriting from all of us is very tough, but exciting nonetheless. Do make the most of it.”

Prof Raghuram said: “Sooner than later, we may be able to celebrate your graduation in the desired fashion. You, the talented gold medallists, represent the entire batch, so do pass the message to your co-students.”


In PGPPM (Batch 2019-20), Neha Verma won the gold medal for best academic performance.

From PGPEM (Batch 2018-20), the gold medal for first rank went to Siddhartha Garikapati.

In EPGP (2019-20), Rachana Kamath has won the gold medal for both first rank as well as for best all round performance.

In PGP (Batch 2018-20), Narayan Sunil received the gold medal for first rank, Subhrangsu Mukherjee and Ankita Shrivastava received it for second rank, and Jinit Pragnesh Dharia for best all round performance.

A report titled, ‘IIM Bangalore and Social Impact’, was launched online. Explaining the relevance of the report, Prof Raghuram said: “We believe this is the right time to document the current status of IIMB’s impact on government and society.”