28 Jan 2020 17:47 IST

IIM Bangalore professors conferred with Prof MJ Manohar Rao Award

From left: Ritwik Banerjee and Soham Sahoo

Ritwik Banerjee and Soham Sahoo have been recognised for their contribution in the field of economics

Prof Ritwik Banerjee, from the Economics and Social Sciences department, and Prof Soham Sahoo, from Centre for Public Policy, at IIM Bangalore, have been conferred with the Prof MJ Manohar Rao Award for Young Researchers by the Indian Econometric Society (TIES).

Prof Banerjee has been recognised for his work at the intersection between behavioural economics and development economics. He has been working on corruption, discrimination, self-confidence and gender using the tools of experimental methods. Prof Sahoo has been awarded for his research and work in the area of economics of education, development economics, labour economics, and political economy.

TIES has instituted this award for young scholars in India to commemorate Professor MJ Manohar Rao’s contributions to economic research and to the TIES. This award is given every year during the TIES conference, which is a platform for economists and econometricians to have a dialogue on significant issues on the subject as also present their findings.