16 Jan 2020 15:27 IST

MICA Prof wins ‘Young Economist Award 2019’

From left: Dr VR Panchamukhi, Chairman, TIES Trust; Dr KL Krishna, Chairperson, Madras Institute of Developmental Studies; Dr Ravindra Dholakia, President, TIES; and Prof Niyati Bhanja, MICA

Prof Niyati Bhanja won the award for her contribution in field of macroeconomics and econometrics

Niyati Bhanja, Assistant Professor and Area Leader (Business Management) at MICA, has bagged the Prof MJ Manohar Rao Young Economist Award for the year 2019 for her contribution in macroeconomics and econometrics.

The award has been instituted by The Indian Econometric Society (TIES), to recognise young researchers below 35 years of age, for their contribution to the field of quantitative economics and econometrics. TIES is one of the oldest and largest bodies of professional econometricians and quantitative economists in India, formed in 1960.

Meaningful contribution

Prof Bhanja said: “I see this award as an acknowledgement of my consistent efforts to contribute to my field in a meaningful way and this shall only spur me to enhance my scholarship in the field of economics. Science progresses in a series of successive approximations and the idea of knowledge is essentially cumulative and, in this context, my long-time collaborators, co-authors, and my professors at my alma mater Pondicherry University have a huge contribution in emboldening my research both in terms of rigour and relevance.”

Prof Bhanja began her career as an assistant professor at the University of Petroleum and Energy Studies (UPES) and teaches Economics at MICA. She has over 31 publications, of which, 21 are classified under Australian Business Deans Council (ABDC) journal quality list.