16 Apr 2021 20:48 IST

Take path less travelled, IBM chief tells IIMB graduating class

Dr Arvind Krishna, Chairman and CEO of IBM

IIMB’s 46th Convocation sees 624 students graduate in virtual mode

Your generation is more global, educated, tolerant, and tech-savvy than perhaps any that has come before it. It is because of the kind of minds that exist here at IIM Bangalore that I know that we will surprise the pessimists. This is your generation’s world to shape. I am eager to see the problems you will solve and the solutions you will create,” said Dr Arvind Krishna, Chairman and CEO of IBM, during IIM Bangalore’s convocation ceremony.

IIMB hosted its 46th Convocation on April 16, 2021. The entire event was held, in the virtual mode, in the presence of the Chairperson of the IIMB Board of Directors Dr Devi Shetty; IIMB Director Professor Rishikesha T Krishnan; Dean Programmes, Prof Abhoy Ojha; Dean Faculty, Prof Chetan Subramanian; Dean Administration, Prof Rajendra K Bandi; Dean Alumni Relations and Development Prof K Kumar; and chairpersons of all the programmes and faculty members. The event included award of gold medals.

Dr Krishna advised the graduating students to be curious and persistent. “Curiosity is what will allow you to find problems that are worth solving. It will give you a new sense of what the word ‘discovery’ means, and will lead you down all sorts of interesting paths. Ultimately, it is your propensity to learn throughout your life — not your intellect, not your degree, not even your experience — that will determine your success. Being insatiably curious will give the fuel you need to learn how to learn throughout your life. I can guarantee you that it will not only make you a better person, but also a much better business leader.”

He added that persistence is another key to take best advantage of the opportunities around us. “Be aware, take paths less travelled, and look for the opportunities that are hidden in plain sight. What is certain is — the more curious and persistent you are, and the more you are aware of these opportunities that exist around you, the more you will give luck a chance. Wherever life takes you, whether you decide to create your own business adventure or join one, you will need to be persistent to see your ideas come to fruition. This is especially important in a context where the world of business is moving faster than ever and innovation is imperative.”

Citing examples of the innovations that went behind the invention of the light bulb, penicillin, microwave, radioactivity, X-rays, or even the Covid-19 vaccine, he pointed out that it is often the people with the most grit who end up making a difference.

Expressing his optimism about India’s future, he said: “India is expected to remain one of the fastest growing economies in the world. India today is a technology powerhouse with more than half of the world’s largest 1,200 multinationals having set up their R&D centres in the country. I have immense confidence in your generation’s ability to take on the challenges of our day, use this as an opportunity to build a better future and fix some of the fault lines that the crisis has exposed.”

Gold medallists

The awards include gold medals for Best All Round Performance, Best Academic Performance, First Rank and Second Rank. In the Post Graduate Programme in Management (PGP) 2019-2021, Piyush Kabra received the gold medal for first rank, Karan Kumar Agarwal for second rank, and Samir Kaushik Shah for best all round performance.



PGP students of 2019-2021 batch Karan Kumar Agarwal, Samir Kaushik Shah, and Piyush Kabra (from left to right)



In the Executive Post Graduate Programme in Management (EPGP) 2020-2021, Sumit More won the gold medal for first rank and Abhinav Goswami for Best All Round Performance.

In the Post Graduate Programme in Enterprise Management (PGPEM) 2019-2021, the gold medal for first rank went to Venkata Naga Swaroop Muvvala and Jagadish Revanna, while Gurunathan Subramanyan received it for Best All Round Performance.

In the Post Graduate Programme in Public Policy and Management (PGPPM) 2020-21, Akta Jain B won the gold medal for Best Academic Performance.

A total of 624 students from various programmes graduated this evening. The programme-wise details are as follows. Doctoral Programme (PhD): 22 students, Post Graduate Programme in Management (PGP): 435, Executive Post Graduate Programme in Management (EPGP): 72, Post Graduate Programme in Enterprise Management (PGPEM): 71, and Post Graduate Programme in Public Policy & Management (PGPPM): 24.

Chairperson’s message

Dr Devi Prasad Shetty, Chairperson, Board of Governors, IIMB


Dr Devi Prasad Shetty, Chairperson, Board of Governors, IIMB, told the graduating students, “I am sure these will be takeaways for you in your road to success and you will continue to take the name of IIMB and our country to greater heights. IIMB helps its students to upskill and reinvent themselves to be able to keep the organisations they work for competitive and growth oriented. As you walk out of this beautiful campus, do remember that you should not be swept away by success alone; please integrate your personal success with a commitment to public good, especially for the less advantaged.”

Director’s address

Prof Rishikesha T Krishnan, Director, highlighted some of the achievements and accomplishments of the institute. He spoke about the new programmes being offered: the Post Graduate Programme in Business Analytics leading to an MBA, and the Mahatma Gandhi National Fellowship which is supported by the Ministry of Skill Development and Entrepreneurship. He listed the awards won by the faculty for their research and publications. He spoke about some of the outstanding achievements of the students. He pointed out that the Class of 2021 has been recruited by reputed companies despite Covid-19 disruptions.

“The delivery of our academic programmes had to undergo a significant change. We took immediate action to start delivery of education through the digital mode.”

Distinguished Alumni Awards 2021

IIM Bangalore had also announced the names of the recipients of the IIMB Distinguished Alumni Awards for 2021. The awardees are Revathy Ashok, PGP 1980, Co-founder, Strategy Garage; J Laxman Rao, PGP 1982, Chairman and Managing Director, Mold-Tek Technologies Ltd and Mold-Tek Packaging Ltd; and Sameer Nair, PGP 1996, Co-founder, Gram Oorja.

The awards, instituted in 2007 at IIMB, are given to alumni in recognition of their achievements of exceptional merit and excellence in their chosen field of endeavour — be it industry, management, entrepreneurship, research, academia, or social service. Each recipient of the prestigious award receives a citation and her/his name is engraved on the Wall of Fame at IIMB.